Tutor Ms Katie L. of New York NY USA tutors homework help in English and Reading, Foreign Language, Math

Ms Katie L. of New York NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Katie L.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I think it is important to help every student with the understanding that he/she is an individual, and therefore learns differently and has different needs than other students I've worked with. When I first meet with a new student, I listen to them, gathering where they are in terms of the subject matter, what they feel good about, what they get frustrated with, why it frustrates them, etc. I also try to get a sense of what each student's personality is like so I can tutor them in the way he/she learns best.

I started tutoring children (ages 10-13) in the areas of math and reading in college while I was a nanny. Since then, I have tutored children (ages 7-15) in the subjects of math, algebra, reading, writing, grammar, piano, voice (singing) and dance. I have worked with NY Cares as a tutor at Little Sisters of the Assumption in Harlem, am currently a tutor for GEMS, tutor on an individual basis and am a full-time writer/musician.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: BS in Advertising/Communications, Culinary Arts
School: The University of Texas at Austin, The Institute of Culinary Education
Awards *New York Women's Culinary Alliance - Volunteer of the Month (September, 2011)
Teacher Certification: No

Share