Location: Chicago IL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Journalism, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Ms Virginia D. of Chicago IL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Virginia D.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My name is Virginia and I am your go-to person for everything English, Business, and Study Skills related! I started tutoring while I was in college in 2003 assisting college students in literally everything from remedial English and Reading to high level Math and Chemistry. I literally can teach in just about any subject but some of my favorite areas are English, ESL, study skills, special needs and Business. As for my educational background I've studied in Michigan for my Associates degree, transferred to Hawaii to complete my bachelors and masters degrees and taken a half a year study abroad opportunity studying and living in Europe. I graduated with my Masters in Business Administration with a concentration in International Business with highest honors in 2005 and work in the area of International Trade and Business Development full time. As all of my clients speak English as a second language I've really developed an appreciation for those students working on learning my native tongue. My work in international business development has also taught me precisely how to take my business lessons from the classroom and relate them directly to the real world we live in everyday. In my free time I volunteer with Chicago Cares and instruct ESL (English as a Second Language) courses for seniors.

If you're looking for a professional tutor who works diligently to help you reach your goals and to keep lessons fun as well as relate them to your life--shoot me an email and we can discuss your desired skill set and how to get you where you want to be. Above all, remember learning should be fun and good luck in your educational endeavors! :)

From grasping marketing strategies to deciphering complex regulations and legalities, my work experience has further developed my business education and has allowed me to see theory put to use in the real-world each and every day. It would be my great pleasure to share and discuss what I have learned with you and I hope you will consider learning, not just from a tutor, but from a mentor who works to make real business happen every day. Also having grown up with two dyslexic younger sisters I have spent an exceptional amount of time tutoring in and learning about special needs and learning disabilities. When I started tutoring in college I had the opportunity to take educator courses and seminars in learning disabilities and how best to work with students with these challenges. I was very excited to work with students in this area and requested to work with my tutoring departments special population group or those with more extensive learning disabilities. These students were phenomenal and together we learned how to learn in spite of their challenges. While special needs is an exceptionally tricky area to tutor in, I am fully confident that given my experience in this area I could not only make learning fun again but also develop the learning life skills and the confidence that learning disabilities typically tend to strip away from students.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $55.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Business Administration and International Management with a concentration in International Business
School: Hawai'i Pacific University
Teacher Certification: No