Alyssa T. of Annapolis MD USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Alyssa T.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am resigning from my position as Reading Program Coordinator for the Neighborhood Tutoring Program at For Love of Children ( in Washington, D.C. While I have participated in other tutoring programs as a teaching student, the philosophy of FLOC embodies my teaching style in many ways. I am a believer in back-to-basics, direct instruction targeted at student's needs. I aim to meet students at their ability levels while pushing them to attempt activities that enrich their knowledge, skills and self-efficacy.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $75.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Special Education, Learning Disabilities
School: Michigan State University
Awards I graduated with honors from Michigan State University in 2005. I was inducted into the National Society for Collegiate Scholars and Kappa Delta Pi as a student at Michigan State University.
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher