Location: Winter Springs FL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension

Melissa B. of Winter Springs FL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Melissa B.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have a bachelor's degree in psychology from USF in Tampa. After college, I taught reading intervention at the elementary school level for a year and a half. I'm experienced in phonemic awareness, phonics, and early comprehension. My minor in college was English literature, so I'm experienced in grammar as well.

I use the direct instruction method, which is basically a no-frills approach. I'm friendly and approachable and like to have fun, but direct instruction is a proven method for intervention and remedial work. I'm most experienced in K-1-2, but can prep your Pre-K student for kindergarten reading, and also have experience with 3-4-5 students.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: psychology
School: USF
Teacher Certification: No