Location: Norman OK USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: Spanish

Meghan R. of Norman OK USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Meghan R.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am currently being certified as a Spanish teacher in Oklahoma. I have passed all of my certification tests and am just waiting for the paperwork to come through.

I am a firm believer in both work and play making students successful. A good student knows the language grammatically, but also knows how to communicate.

Immersion is the quickest way to learn a language, but is hard to reproduce in an environment in the United States. This is why I am a firm believer in use of the TPRS method (Teaching Proficiency through Reading and Storytelling). While this may be unrealistic for a tutoring setting, I think that reinforcing grammar and vocabulary points through making up and telling stories and reading is the easiest way to surround yourself in the language.

It won't all be workbook exercises with me--I think that fun and real-life experience are crucial in learning a language. If you cannot communicate, why

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Foreign Language Education (Spanish)
School: University of Oklahoma
Awards Outstanding Foreign Language Student Teacher
Outstanding Foreign Language Education Senior
Top Ten Senior Secret Honor Society
Most outstanding, well-rounded Senior member of my Sorority, Delta Gamma (Alpha Iota Star)
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher