David D. of Orinda CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: David D.
Gender: Male   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience


I am a proponent of the Socratic method. I am convinced that simply loading a student with information will not help him/her truly master a subject. Rather, I find that, by guiding a student through his/her intellectual inquiry and asking questions that support that inquiry, a teacher/tutor can most effectively help the student to internalize and personalize knowledge.

My major academic focus for my BA was Ancient (Attic and Biblical) Greek and Latin. I have supported this with significant study in theoretical linguistics, English language and literature, anthropology and social studies, history, and more.

I recently completed an MA in Comparative Religions at the University of Erfurt in Germany. I have lived in Germany for several years, and am proficient in German. I have lived in Russia and Morocco, and I have a reasonable command of Russian and Arabic, so I am able to help with the study of those languages on the beginner to intermediate levels.

After a combination of home-schooling and charter-schooling, I finished my BA at UC Berkeley at age 18 -- my main areas of expertise are with the home-schooled and with gifted/talented/accelerated students.

I have several years of experience working on translations (from German and Russian into English) and copy-editing, specifically for academic texts. I am also a published author.

I used to compete in swimming, racquetball, dance, and more. I am now an active competitive fencer. I am "C" ranked in epee and "E" ranked in foil. I have competed in the Junior Olympics (under 20 national championships), the Junior National Championships, the Division III and Division II Summer National Championships, the German University National Championships, and numerous college and national division tournaments.

I have played classical and folk guitar for six years, and have sung in several church choirs.



I mainly work with free-lance one-on-one tutoring at the moment. I have tutored social science, Latin, Greek, English, and German privately to students as young as eight and as old as forty (both in person and online).

I taught ESL and music at orphanages and schools in Indonesia on a three-month volunteer project in 2010.

I tutored 6th grade students at Willard After School Program in Berkeley California from 2008-2009. Subjects included mathematics, social sciences, and English. Also at Willard After School, I volunteered in the program Future Leaders for Peace, a program that "teaches young people positive leadership and interpersonal skills, and creates a movement of change by inspiring them to share these skills with others."

In the summer of 2008, I participated in a three-week volunteer project in Albania.
Along with 4 other volunteers, I designed a summer camp for fifty Albanian middle-schoolers, teaching subjects as various as English as a second language, arts and crafts, and music.

I worked as a college Latin, math, and English as a second language tutor from 2005-2007 at the Santa Rosa Junior College Tutorial Center.

I have extensive experience tutoring both in person and online.
I am currently available both for online tutoring and for in-person tutoring in the East Bay.

My usual rates are:
$30 per hour for tutoring at my house or over skype.
$35-40 per hour for tutoring at another destination.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Home Schooling
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Comparative Religions
School: University of Erfurt, Germany
Awards M.A. Universitt Erfurt in Comparative Religion (2010 to the present)

Fulbright Scholarship 2010-2011 for graduate studies in Germany, 2010-2011

B.A. in Classical Languages and Civilizations, U.C. Berkeley, summa cum laude, 2009

Departmental Citation for Distinction in the Major (An award of a certificate and a cash prize to a graduating major with a highly distinguished record in work in the major).

UC Berkeley Classics Department Book Prize for a graduating student going on to graduate school.

2009 Phi Beta Kappa
2008 National Society of Collegiate Scholars
2006 Phi Theta Kappa (International Honor Society of the Two Year College)

Full CV available upon request.

Teacher Certification: No