Location: Parsippany NJ USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Test Preparation
Subjects: SAT

Lauren K. of Parsippany NJ USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Lauren K.
Gender: Female   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I love teaching, and have been tutoring and working as a teaching assistant for the past four years. I work both independently and for a private test preparation company.

When I was in high school, I was very stressed out over SATs, APs, and the college process, and so I worked with a number of different tutors and companies to ensure my best chance of admission to a top school. Now that all of that is behind me, I work with my students to ensure that they perform to the best of their abilities, while at the same time making learning enjoyable, and taking as much stress out of the process as I can. After working with so many different tutors, I have been able to learn the best of whats out there when it comes to test preparation, and as Im still in college, the knowledge is very fresh in my mind. I take the SATs every year as a refresher, and have prepared many different students for the test.

I also love working with younger students, before they have to worry about the endless number of admission tests, GPAs, rankings, etc. When working with younger students, I aim to make sure that they learn to love learning by focusing on what theyre already really interested in, because channeling these passions will help them succeed throughout their schooling. Most students never get the chance to choose what they want to study until college, and after thirteen years of compulsory education, unfortunately it is too late for many students to truly appreciate their time in school.

Through personalized sessions, I get my tutees excited about learning. Whether it takes trips to a museum to transform a video-game obsession into a new-found expertise in paleontology, a combination of trips to the library and the seeking out of the right fan-fiction sites to turn a Hannah Montana-devotee into a budding writer, or the filming of a documentary on the local animal shelter to expand the love of a childhood pet into the start of a career in film-making or community activism, I tailor the students leisure time into an educational and joyful experience.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $75.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Anthropology
School: Brown University
Teacher Certification: No