Kelly W. of Bella Vista AR USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Kelly W.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have worked with a wide range of students in my four years of tutoring experience. From 2001-2003, I worked for Upward Bound at Northern Michigan University, which focused on teaching first-generation college students, some with economic hardships. While employed with Upward Bound, I tutored in the sciences, math, and English. For the past two years, I have been employed at a writing tutor at the University of Arkansas' Quality Writing Center. Additionally, I have experience in working for an educational institute that is focused on helping students of all ages develop stronger reading skills and habits. I believe all students are capable of learning and can learn to love a subject they are struggling with. Sometimes it takes that one person who can explain something in a slightly different way than they have been accustomed to or are offered extra words of encouragement. I strongly believe in very interactive tutorials that involve a lot of question asking, explanation, demonstration on part of the tutor, and then student application of concepts.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $10.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling, Remedial
Educational Level: Ph.D.
Major: English Literature (Ph.D. expected in 2010)
School: University of Arkansas
Teacher Certification: No