Location: Chicago IL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Writing

Rebecca J. of Chicago IL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Rebecca J.
Gender: Female   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I've helped people from some very different backgrounds gain a firmer knowledge of English. What I'm particularly good at is finding a different way to explain something when a student doesn't understand it the first time. I like to use metaphors that have some connection to the student's area of familiarity. Having spent years studying the structure of languages (linguistics) generally, and several languages specifically, I have several different ways to approach English, all of which I think add depth to what could otherwise be really boring. I've been very lucky as a student, I've had good teachers who have helped me to enjoy learning (if not school), and I hope I can encourage my students to that same enjoyment. I like to see other people's creativity, so I prefer having someone write something on his own and then going over it with him to talk through any changes that need to be made. This helps me get a feel for how he approaches language, and accomplishes a lot more than handing back a page with red marks that explain nothing and which the student may very well never read again. One of the most fascinating fields in which I've studied has been acquisition of language (both first and second), and I hope to bring that to bear on being the most comprehensible and helpful tutor I can be.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Linguistics
School: University of Chicago
Awards Just recurring requests for help from the same people. I find that high praise, and not having a professional background in tutoring, probably the highest and most official I am likely to get.
Teacher Certification: No