Location: Kensington MD USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Mrs Rachel M. of Kensington MD USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mrs Rachel M.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a certified elementary teacher and I have worked with children ages Pre-K through seventh grade. I am currently tutoring a seventh grader in math and an eighth grader in math and reading. In the past I have tutored a second grader in reading and several sixth graders in math. I enjoy working one-on-one with students and I love helping them understand new concepts and learn.
I have full-time classroom teaching experience in sixth grade math, fifth grade language arts, math, and social studies, and first grade. I have taught students with learning disabilities, as well as gifted and talented students.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Childhood Education
School: Houghton College
Awards I am currently pursuing a Master's degree in Elementary Reading and Literacy from Walden University and will be graduating in December, 2009.
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher