Location: Atlanta GA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Miss Karen F. of Atlanta GA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Miss Karen F.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I've chosen to tutor for two reasons: 1) I enjoyed writing and learning in general; and 2) I enjoy seeing the light go on in my students' eyes even more.

I started college as a physics major before switching to creative writing, so my interests are varied. As far as teaching/tutoring is concerned, however, I volunteered as a high school physics (i.e. math) instructor in Kenya before completing my degree in 2005.

I'm interesting in tutoring as a means of giving back. I'd like to find students who aren't afraid to work and have fun. Math may prove difficult at times, but much of what is needed to improve is the practice of looking for patterms and the confidence to try and try again. I hope to provide support for students who want not just to get by but to succeed.

If this matches what you're seeking in a tutor, I look forward to hearing from you.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Middle School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $10.00 to $15.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Creative Writing
School: Harvard University
Teacher Certification: No