Location: Palmdale CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Karen K. of Palmdale CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Karen K.
Gender: Female   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a multiple subject clear credential holder in California in elementary education. I teach 1st grade for 17 years. I work in small groups or single one-on-one situations. I have tutored after school groups in reading/comprehension. I know the Houghton Mifflin (reading first) series extremely well. I am patient, thorough, and easy to understand.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling, Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Elementary Education
School: Brooklyn College of the City Univ. of New York
Awards Reading First certification from Los Angeles County office of education. I have my CLAD credential as well. Willing and able to work with any elementary school child.
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher