Location: Los Angeles CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Business
Subjects: Accounting, Marketing

Melanie C. of Los Angeles CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Melanie C.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Learning should be fun & creative! Every student has their own learning style and I feel it is important as a tutor to understand and cater to this. My tutoring enhances and goes beyond the formal education system.
I have 15 years international business experience, traveling overseas and working for companies such as The Gap, Oscar de la Renta, and Chicago Magazine. I have a B.A. in Criminology from Ohio State, an A.A. in Product Development, and a Masters in Accountancy. I was valedictorian in high school and have always believed in education. Even though I succeeded in school, I had to learn my own ways to study and learn, as my ways did not match up to the formal educational system's ways. I think this helps me in tutoring to understand that everyone's learning style is different.
I have taught at universities and have been an ESL tutor for 2 years and find each student to be unique and having a lot to offer. I feel my strengths are finding the best way for you to learn the material and remember it & doing so in a creative, inspiring way. My diversity from living in 6 major cities in the U.S., traveling and working internationally, and my determination to make the learning experience rewarding and fun for all involved makes me a strong tutor.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Accountancy
School: DePaul University
Teacher Certification: No