Location: Boston MA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Test Preparation
Subjects: GRE, LSAT, Other, SAT

Lisa J. of Boston MA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Lisa J.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Congenial, humorous, exceptionally effective teacher with 10 years of tutoring experience at your service.

Repetition and drilling of your weaknesses is what's going to get you a really high score. Most people who score lower are as intelligent and capable, but not as fast/agile - its poor technique and practice more than anything else. Admissions tests are very time intensive, and very repetitive, so if you're conditioned and know what to expect - if you've mastered all the types of questions (and there really aren't that many when you break it down) - you're ahead of the curve. Think of it like training for sports.

We'll work out an individualized program for you based on how many weeks you have until your test. I'll have you take and send me a full, completed practice test before we ever meet so I can get a sense of your strengths and weaknesses. We'll spend the initial sessions going over each subject matter individually touching on each math concept, each type of logic question, how to understand and approach them, etc. We'll go at your pace - anything you have a good handle on we can breeze right past, we'll focus on things that are difficult for you.

In the next phase of the program, we'll drill you. Short, time intensive drills in the sections you need the most work in. We'll go over your progress and address whatever lack of understanding - or more commonly - which incorrect approach/technique is holding you back. We'll drill you on your worst subject until it becomes your best - until you can do it in your sleep. You'll be able to anticipate the answer to the questions before you finish reading them.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: History/Literature/Science
School: Cornell University
Awards I graduated from Cornell University in 2006 magna cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa with a 3.9 GPA. I wrote for five campus publications, acted as an orientation supervisor, and was awarded the Vincent Bentley Prize, the highest distinction in my major. I recently finished an accelerated post-baccalaureate program at Rutgers University, completing the pre-medical science curriculum in one year with a 3.95 GPA.

-Recently completed the pre-medical science curriculum in one year with a 3.95 GPA.
-Have won numerous writing awards; published in the New York Times
I have taken almost every standardized test imaginable: GMAT (Score: 770, 99th percentile, Writing: 6)
GRE (Math: 790, Verbal:670, Writing: 6)
LSAT (Score: 165, 93rd percentile)
SAT (Math: 720, Verbal 710) Writing SAT II (Score: 790)
Math SAT II (Score: 770)
Calculus BC, US History, and English Literature AP Exams (Scores: 4, 5, 5 respectively).
MCAT (not yet scored)
Teacher Certification: No