Location: Tampa FL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading, Test Preparation
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing, SAT

Zach E. of Tampa FL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Zach E.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hello, my name's Zach, and I am currently enrolled as a Grad student in USF's Library Science program. I am 26 years old, and have worked as a tutor for about one and a half years. My main area of focus is on reading and writing skills. For one semester, I was a teacher's assistant in my community college's English Composition course. This involved working with freshmen to improve their grammar, spelling, sentence structure, and argument-building skills. For a year, I also worked for C2 Education (a tutoring company similar to Kaplan and Sylvan) as a reading and writing instructor for students from 6 to 18 years of age. Much of this was based on SAT instruction, but it also included helping students with homework and study skills, working with them to write better essays, and doing exercises to improve their reading comprehension and critical thinking skills. These sessions were one-on-three, so I became adept at time-management skills.

I offer several things you may not find elsewhere. For one, my rates are quite low, since I do not have a ton of experience -- I generally never charge more than $25 an hour (unless you live quite far from me). Also, as you can see, I'm skilled at working with students of all ages. Younger students get a lot out of our sessions because I am patient, kind and able to talk to them on their level. High school and college students will find that I am very diligent, articulate, and knowledgeable about the SAT, college admissions essays, and other topics near and dear to them. Third, if your child speaks English as a second language, fear not! My year at C2 gave me lots of experience in working with students whose families spoke Asian languages (Korea, India, Turkey) at home, and one skill I offer is the ability to work with ESOL students in a supportive, non-intimidating way. Finally, I have positive references from employers and parents who will be happy to answer any questions you have.

In short, if you live in the Tampa area and would like to have your child start getting A's in his or her Language Arts classes, or would like to bump their SAT scores up one or two hundred points, I am a cheap, flexible and experienced option. Since I volunteer at my local library and take classes full-time, I am planning on limiting my tutoring hours to around 10-12 hours per week. However, my schedule is quite flexible, so I will work with you to make our tutoring sessions as convenient as possible.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Philosophy
School: University of Central Florida
Teacher Certification: No