Location: Los Angeles CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Science
Subjects: Biology, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Elementary Science, Physics

Mr Michael S. of Los Angeles CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Michael S.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I tutor in the way that the student requests.

Usually I focus on deep understanding of concepts. I try to avoid memorization, although sometimes it is necessary. I would like the students to understand how the material is connected to other subjects and even daily life. This allows students to remember the material for much longer as well as have the capacity to creatively apply concepts to novel situations.

I have helped with take home materials such as homework problems. I have tutored online too. In addition, I have worked with students who prefer to strictly focus on conceptual understanding.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $20.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Chemical Engineering-Biomedical Option
School: University of California, Los Angeles
Awards I have a little over one year combined tutoring experience. I have been tutoring full-time for the last 8 months. I have 6 months of additional tutoring experience from when I was in college.

I graduated from UCLA cum laude (honors) with a 3.62 GPA. I scored 91% on the Dental Admissions Test (DAT), which is like the MCAT but for dental school. I am applying to dental school for Fall 2010.

At UCLA, I was a member of the Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honors society. I made the deans list several times too.
Teacher Certification: No