International Tutor outside USA

Location: Memphis TN USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Ms Claire D. of Memphis TN USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Claire D.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

In addition to being a substitute teacher, I also tutor children in reading who are below grade for their age. I generally work on an individual basis, although most recently I had two to three students at a time. I work on basic skills with the student to build confidence in the subject before pushing her on to more challenging tasks. By building this confidence, the student can succeed at things of which she did not think herself capable. I believe that learning must seem relevant to the student in order for that student to want to learn on her own as well as with my guidance. Therefore, I try to bring the lesson in to context with something in which the student might be interested. I like to work on a closer level with my student-emphasizing the idea that we are working together to learn.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English Literature
School: Rhodes College
Awards I received the Rhodes Grant and the Rhodes Award which are two scholarships from Rhodes College for students who consistently show excellent academic performance
Teacher Certification: No