Location: Lexington KY USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Journalism, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Lindsay O. of Lexington KY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Lindsay O.
Gender: Female   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a sophomore at the University of Kentucky pursuing a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and in Spanish.

I tutored several students at my high school and was awarded for this. I have tutored several friends and my own family members.

In terms of tutoring style, I am a hands-on tutor. I will teach basic concepts and then let the student work on them until they have a strong understanding of the basics upon which we can build. I will NOT do the work for them or move on when I think they haven't understood properly. In addition, I will gladly implement games, drills, songs, acronyms, etc to make things more fun and laid back for the student and to make harder concepts easier to understand.

I am very proficient in analytical writing, prose, poetry, creative writing, essays, reading, thorough reading, reading comprehension, grammar, etc. I am also very familiar with most common assigned reading books for grade schools and high schools, but of course I am willing to read and research any books I haven't already read. I am very familiar with classic literature, foreign literature, autobiographies, etc. and will gladly reference a student to any book that I believe will aid their learning (and will even let them borrow it if I own it).

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $10.00 to $20.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: HS-Diploma
Major: English / Spanish
School: University of Kentucky
Awards I currently maintain a 3.9 GPA at the University of Kentucky as an English and Spanish major. I have been on the Dean's List every semester at UK and am a member of the Honors Program.

I graduated high school as the Salutatorian (2nd) in my class. I graduated with a 3.95 GPA in the advanced program and earned 2 AP credits in English Literature and English Composition (with a '4' grade). I was a Kentucky Governor's Scholar in 2008. I have won several awards in high school for writing, poetry, journalism, and TV news packages. I received a 32 in the Reading section of the ACT and a 35 in the English section.
Teacher Certification: No