Location: Fort Thomas KY USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Grammar, Writing

Ms Jennifer F. of Fort Thomas KY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Jennifer F.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hi! My name is Ms. Friend, and I would love the opportunity to work with your child to help them succeed in writing. I earned my Bachelor's degree in Journalism and Communications from the University of Florida in 2003. After writing for various newspapers as a professional journalist, I decided to switch from writing to teaching writing in 2003. For two years I taught Language Arts in an inner city school in downtown Fort Lauderdale. In my first year, I was able to increase the number of students who passed the state's standardized essay exam by 30%. In my second year, I had students who earned perfect scores on their essays. I understand the challenge and frustration students face when writing essays; therefore, I use a gentle approach to teaching writing. I help students break down the writing steps, organize their thoughts, and write stellar essays that are bursting with strong vocabulary and vivid descriptions. I now teach English for students grade 6 through 10 for an online school.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $75.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling, Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Journalism and Communications
School: University of Florida
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher