Location: Elgin IL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Elizabeth P. of Elgin IL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Elizabeth P.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a certified elementary teacher (who was homeschooled) with endorsements in language arts and social studies and 15 credit hours in science. I have been a classroom teacher and tutor for over 10 years. I have taught in traditional classrooms, as well as multiage classrooms. I have taught special needs, learning disabled, and gifted students. I tutor students in grades kindergarten through eighth grade in any subject, and high school students in English, History, Biology, and Earth Science. I am especially gifted in remedial reading, writing, and grammar. I am a nurturing teacher, who encourages long-term, hard, persistent effort from the heart, to achieve. I promote a climate of caring and trust, helping students overcome challenges and meet achievable goals. I understand that many students have histories of failure or boredom during their school career, and I am here to help. I believe all students can learn if given the right opportunity, and taught the way they learn. I am gifted with helping students understand seemingly complex ideas. I am able to teach from the learner's point of view. Every person learns differently, and benefits from one-on-one attention.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Middle School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling,Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Elementary Education
School: Judson University
Teacher Certification: No