Location: Rockwall TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Mrs J'Non W. of Rockwall TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mrs J'Non W.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I earned my M.A. in English with an emphasis in composition and rhetoric, with experience tutoring in, and then directing a university writing center. I have taught courses in College Reading & Writing, Intro to College Reading & Writing, and Written Argument & Research at Texas A&M-Commerce.

I specialize in and truly enjoy helping writers of many levels to get past the obstacles they may find in any writing project: brainstorming/idea generation; the development of relevant details, arguments, and organization; and finally, teaching clients to avoid surface-level mistakes that may distract from the content.

Face-to-face tutoring or coaching sessions that allow me to focus on the individual needs of each client have been the most rewarding for both parties.

Yes, it may be a little nerdy, but I actually do love the sometimes messy process of helping writers to write well! I'm interested in tutoring locally so that I can start a family while doing something that I love.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: English
School: Texas A&M University-Commerce
Teacher Certification: No