Amanda H. of Congers NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Amanda H.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My dedication, enthusiasm, education and experience in teaching elementary school students provide the credentials and background to be an exceptional tutor. I have a Masters of Science in Literacy Education from Long Island University and a Bachelors of Science in Childhood Education from the State University of New York College at Plattsburgh. I am a certified teacher in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut, and I am a certified literacy specialist in New York.

I have a great deal of experience working with children and in the education field. In addition to currently teaching Pre-K at Children's Corner Nursery School, I was a tutor at the Long Island University Literacy Clinic from May 2009-August 2009. I was also a substitute teacher for the Clarkstown Central School District during the 2008-2009 school year. I had an incredible student teaching experience at P.S. 33-Chelsea Prep in the spring of 2008. These experiences have increased and enhanced my knowledge of teaching children. Specifically, I have learned many teaching strategies and have been exposed to various teaching styles.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $40.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Literacy (Birth-Grade 6)
School: Long Island University
Awards Member of Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education
Teacher Certification: No