Mr Kevin H. of San Francisco CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Kevin H.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Tutoring Statement:
Versatile, friendly, intelligent tutor with excellent ability to make others feel comfortable so that they may open to their full potential. It is great to see a student realize that they are a lot smarter than they may have originally believed. My interdisciplinary background can be quite helpful as I am knowledgeable in most subject areas. I have taken college level Calculus, Physics, Chemistry, and have been extremely successful in the Humanities. My specialty is writing - but I love all subjects. (However, I cannot draw for the life of me - But I can teach guitar!)

Tutoring Approach and Style:
I like the learning experience to be fun. One can expect me to find ways to bring enthusiasm even to your least favorite subject. Secondly, I recognize the importance in understanding that each individual has their own learning strategies, as well as their unique strengths of intelligence. I identify those strengths and develop creative methods; techniques that are designed to build off a students natural skill set in a way that can be effectively applied towards more difficult areas of learning. (When DaVinci was asked how he was so talented at science, math and art, he replied something to the effect that he brings his artistic understanding to science and scientific abilities to his art - it's all connected.) Finally, I throw my ego out the door. Students can expect to be meeting with an equal - another human being. I can set my mind to understand where they are coming from so that we can learn together; from one and another.

My first professional teaching and tutoring experience took place when I was working with AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteer in Service to America), in a program led by UCLA, to set up sustainable college and career centers in Los Angeles. I taught SAT Prep (Math/Verbal/Writing), helped with school work, and made good use of my writing talent by becoming the lead reader/editor/teacher for helping students with their college application essays.
More recently, I have worked with a variety of students. These students have ranged in age from 10 to 19, have had various learning capabilities (from gifted to potential learning disabilities), and have all taught me a great deal about the learning process. Let me briefly share three experiences:
1. I enjoyed helping an Autistic teenager who wanted very much to pass his driver's education, written test. Though challenging (because he is easily frustrated), it was a wonderful experience that taught me how to imagine what life is like through the eyes of another. It was very rewarding - And, he passed!
2. Currently, I am privileged to be teaching a very bright and gifted young man in the 5th grade. He excels with math and science, but is looking for ways to do better with English reading and writing. I have found that writing answers to questions that contain no DEFINITE answer, like that of math, is challenging for him. Consequently, we have been very successful by bringing structure to sentence creation. I think that he is now able to see writing as a type of logical puzzle that is more free for creative expression than a typical math problem.
3. A really mature and amazing young man, of the fifth grade, came to me for help because he faces being held back a year. He has been identified as having an auditory processing disability, but also suffers from the immense frustration and insecurity that often comes along with academic problems. Being creative with my tutoring approach is essential because we have to develop methods that engage him and stimulate multiple parts of his brain at the same time. One of our favorite activities is playing catch while verbally doing his multiplication tables.

Learning is fun for me and helping others succeed is very fulfilling.

What makes me a valuable and helpful tutor?
Humbly speaking, but with confidence, I can say I'm highly knowledgeable in many subject areas because I have been taught with an interdisciplinary approach to learning. My education has focused on making connections between all subject matters. Of course, I have always been a very good student with a passion to learn. I like to bring this enthusiasm to my students.
Being a friendly person who genuinely likes to help others, you will find me to be flexible and patient. What sets me apart from other tutors is my creative ability to innovate strategies that are effective in helping a student attain desired results and be successful. It is always genuinely rewarding to see a students confidence shoot up, thereby allowing their personality to bloom.
Finally, I make every effort to go above and beyond to be as helpful as possible.

Best of luck to everyone!

Prior Private Customer Testimonial:

I had the pleasure to work with Kevin, who tutored my disabled son. Kevin understood my son better than many professional people understand disabled people. He knew how to enter his world and help him with education. Kevin always came on time, read extra material to prepare and stayed longer if needed. His dedication was remarkable and his work ethic was perfect. -Meir S.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling, Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Philosophy, Cosmology, and Consciousness
School: California Intitute of Integral Studies
Teacher Certification: No