Location: New York NY USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Christopher S. of New York NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Christopher S.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Background: I graduated May '09 with honors from the University of Pennsylvania with a B.A. Economics and math minor. I also studied engineering for three semesters, completing more than 11 mathematics, science (calculus-based), and engineering courses. I've been tutoring for over four years (usually summers) privately, for community service, and for course credits. In the past I've taught earth science, college-level calculus, chemistry, and writing, but at this point I'd like to specialize in math.

Time & Location: I'm free to tutor after 7pm on weekdays and anytime on weekends. It's up to the student where we meet.

Procedure: I like to first meet with the student and speak with him/her for a while and thumb through the material. If the student would like to continue, we set up a time for the first session. I'm dependable and readily available; If it's the night before a test and we don't have a session, the student is more than welcome -- encouraged -- to call me or email me to clear up any last-minute concerns. Most, if not all, of my students have enjoyed substantial increases in test scores.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Economics
School: University of Pennsylvania
Teacher Certification: No