Location: Berkeley CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: French

Allison L. of Berkeley CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Allison L.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have been learning French since I was 7 years old, and have been studying it in school for 10 years (thus, I have been exposed to French for 14 years). I spent a year studying abroad at Sciences Po (the French equivalent to Harvard) in Paris, France for the Academic Year 2008 (August) to 2009 (July). I am fluent in French.
My tutoring style takes on a more Socratic method of teaching. I encourage daily, short exercises that I provide the student to help perfect their skills in learning the language. I emphasize independence and responsibility for the student to address the problem and allow me to guide them to understanding and answering the problem without me simply providing the answer.
I emphasize proper grammar structure work and pronunciation. This is done not only through written exercises, but also through conversation, allowing another, more interactive approach for the student.
For those interested, I can also provide education on French culture from my own personal experience. This also includes the French approach to education (i.e. how to write an essay in the French method, etc.), something with which I am very familiar.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: French and Political Science
School: UC Berkeley
Teacher Certification: No