Location: Waterbury CT USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Mrs Melissa P. of Waterbury CT USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mrs Melissa P.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I was an elementary teacher for 8 years. I have since left the classroom when my husband and I adopted our son from Russia. I am now a stay at home mom of a 2 year old. I love helping students who seem to be struggling with their phonics, reading, and writing skills. I try to change my teaching style to meet the needs of my students. I incorporate books, worksheets, skill review, and games to make learning fun. I have the most experience working with elementary level students but I have my Remedial Reading teaching certification and the knowledge to work with students of all ages.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Remedial Reading Language Instruction
School: Southern CT State University
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher