Location: San Diego CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Dane D. of San Diego CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Dane D.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Personal Statement

I have had a passion from a young age for learning in general, and for science and language in particular. My formal training is as a mathematician and physicist, while I am self-taught as an entrepreneur, word crafter, and martial artist. Since I was a child I have been an avid reader and very meticulous with language. I began grooming myself for academia at age 16, when I attended a residential math and science magnet school, the Arkansas School for Mathematics and Sciences. Upon graduating from high school I earned a full scholarship to attend Hendrix College, a private liberal arts school. In college I double majored in math and physics, but I was exposed to the whole array of academic disciplines in the course of my undergraduate career, because multidisciplinary studies, and particularly writing skills, were central to the liberal arts curriculum. I became involved in research work as an undergraduate, including publishing an article in the undergraduate mathematics journal Pi Mu Epsilon and presenting work at several undergraduate research conferences. In addition I participated in an REU (Research Experience for Undergraduates) program at BYU where I worked with Dr. Steven Jones, designing and testing solar cookers for distribution to poverty-stricken regions of the world. Upon graduating from Hendrix I began graduate studies at San Diego State University, working towards a master's degree in physics and supporting myself as a TA. Upon completing all of the required coursework I found myself lacking inspiration for a thesis project, so I opted to take an extended leave of absence from academia and enter the world of entrepreneurship. Swayed by the advice of an old college friend I entered the real estate investing business, which occupied me for three years, from 2005 until 2008. During this time I also tutored privately on the side and taught tai chi both formally, to an adult education class, and informally, to friends and private clients. In 2007 I began to cultivate my business as a freelance writer, editor, and proofreader, and have since completed a variety of projects, including educational writing, ghostwriting, and major editing, for a number of satisfied clients. This business, along with teaching tai chi and tutoring, has been keeping me stimulated and occupied ever since. My plans for the future include growing my businesses, publishing my own writing, and returning to academia. My strengths include organization, communication, and business skills.

Why I Enjoy Tutoring

Once upon a time I sat down to determine the conditions for my ideal life. Out of that brainstorming session came my eight daily pillars, the daily ingredients I require for a happy life:

-mental exercise
-creative expression
-physical exercise

Of these eight daily pillars, tutoring satisfies the first six:

-it's work because I get paid for it;
-it's learning because teaching and learning can't be separated;
-it's mental exercise because I have to stay ahead of the student so I can lead effectively;
-it takes creative expression to make concepts memorable
-it builds relationships by bringing me into contact with people I can help;
-it's leisure because I have fun doing it!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: math, physics
School: Hendrix College
Teacher Certification: No