David K. of Los Gatos CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: David K.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hey there, my name is David and I started tutoring as a college student at the University of California Santa Barbara. It was there that I begun helping my friends and classmates with their studies. In the process I discovered that I had a gift for explaining abstract concepts such as organic chemistry, physics, and biology. I was blessed with two wonderful parents both of which graduated with Masters degrees from Stanford University. My mother is a retired English and French teacher and my father is an electrical engineer. Thus, as a child I was fortunate enough to be instilled with strong language and mathematics fundamentals that paved the way for my academic success. As a high school student at Leigh High in San Jose I received a 4.2 GPA and as a college student I received a 3.6 GPA graduating at the top of my class with a B.S. in Biology.

My tutoring style has changed dramatically since I started. If I do become acquainted with your son or daughter I will start out by evaluating their understanding of the subject.

This evaluation is free of charge.

Often times, students only need help with organization and study habits. Others are not so fortunate and demand intensive sessions to ingrain the general principles of a subject. Whatever your child's situation, we can work together to figure out the correct approach and determine how many hours are necessary to get them caught up to speed.

A typical tutoring session involves going over a students homework. However, don't be fooled, throughout the session I will be constantly questioning your child to gauge their knowledge of the subject. I've found that this is the best way to teach because a student must be actively involved, especially when they are learning a subject that they find dull and tedious. I also throw in tid bits about study habits, speed reading, word roots, and summarizing techniques where possible. I've recently discovered and implemented a revolutionary study and teaching technique known as Mind Mapping. Additionally, I come equipped with a laptop, Ipad and more importantly a small white board. I like to show students that all the resources they need are at the tips of their fingers. Thus, the goal is to catch the student up to speed, realign their focus, and motivate them to the point that tutoring is no longer necessary.

I live for the AH HAH! moment and trust me they are not uncommon when I sit down for an intensive tutoring session. Please contact me if you wish to hear from my numerous references...

Affiliate Groups:

National Society of Collegiate Scholars
Big Brothers and Big Sisters of America
National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians

June 17, 2010

To Whom It May Concern:

I sought out the services of a tutor in need of someone who could not only understand and explain the material to my son Daniel, but also someone that could motivate him, instill confidence in him, and inspire him to perform his best in school. Before David and I first met, I was a bit skeptical of his alleged tutoring skills; nonetheless, after our first meeting, I had no doubt that he would produce results. I was not disappointed. Within a month and a half Daniel was passing Math and English again and had a renewed sense of self-confidence. David is by far one of the most well spoken, well rounded individuals that I have met for someone his age. It is not often that you have someone as young as him trying to show you material and give you advice about the qualities of leadership and how to win over others. I highly recommend him for employment in any position he aspires to.


Mike Brown


Janis and David O'Hare: 408-559-0979
Wynn Shood: 408-857-0866

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Middle School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Biology
School: University of California Santa Barbara

Teacher Certification: No