Location: South Portland ME USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: French

Mrs Britta P. of South Portland ME USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mrs Britta P.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I lived in Paris, France for two years (2000-2002) where I taught English as a Foreign Language (I received my EFL certificate through WICE University in Paris, a program sponsored by Rutgers University in New Jersey). I studied French at the Alliance Francaise while living in Paris. During vacation periods, I taught English to school aged children in Haute Savoie. I eventually became fluent in French. I moved back to the U.S. in 2002 where I became an adult education teacher. I taught French to adults for three years and ESOL and literacy for seven years. I also did quite a bit of tutoring on the side to individuals of all ages. I have become very skilled at teaching languages over the years. I have a number of fun and communicative activities that I have developed through teaching. I am very familiar with French language and culture (I married a Parisian, and return to France yearly). I have become quite familiar with many of the challenges that English language speakers face when learning French.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $40.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: + C.A.S. Adult Education
School: University of Southern Maine
Teacher Certification: No