Location: Trinity FL USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Andrea R. of Trinity FL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Andrea R.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I normally tutor students individually to help them better understand their specific problem areas. Depending on the students' individual needs and combination of strengths and weaknesses, I will lecture, work through problems with the students, or guide the students through problems on their own. I like to actively engage the students to make sure that they can repeat the problems when the lesson is over and to ensure that they truly understand the concepts being covered. Given my success in high school and my ability to consistently score in the 99+ percentile of standardized tests, I can also share good methods of studying for tests and approaching problems.

I began tutoring seven years ago as a sophomore in high school and have since tutored middle school and high school students in a variety of subjects. I have tutored students with learning disabilities in the PASS program who were struggling to graduate from high school, gifted math students who required a bit of extra assistance with increasingly difficult math concepts, and everyone in between.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Biological Sciences
School: University of Chicago
Awards I was valedictorian of my graduating class of more than four hundred students in 2005 and have a degree in Biological Sciences with a Specialization in Endocrinology from the University of Chicago. I was also a National Merit Scholar, which requires placement in the 99+ percentile of the PSAT, and a National AP Scholar, which requires a score of 4 or 5 on eight Advanced Placement tests.

I have additionally achieved the following test scores:
AP 5 in Biology, Chemistry, Calculus, Physics, United States History, and Psychology
SAT II 790 (out of 800) in Writing and Math II
SAT II 800 (out of 800) in Chemistry
Teacher Certification: No