Location: San Francisco CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Journalism, Literature, Writing

Lisa G. of San Francisco CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Lisa G.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My tutoring techniques vary depending on the individual needs of the student and his or her strengths and weaknesses. I work just as hard at developing a relationship with the student as I do at improving his or her work, because I feel that establishing a connection with each student fosters a more confident and engaging learning environment. I do not apply the same standards to each student, and because of this, all of the students I've worked with always schedule their next meeting during our current meeting, which proves to me that they are pleased with the work they were able to accomplish with me. I do not impose specific tutoring techniques or teaching methods on each student, but rather begin with a conversation about what they think they need the most help on, and go from there. I have found that working alongside students in this manner gives them a sense that they're doing much of the work on their own, and this instills a confidence in both the work at hand and their overall abilities.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Writing
School: California College of the Arts
Teacher Certification: No