Location: Poway CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Carol G. of Poway CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Carol G.
Gender: Female   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have seven years experience (2002-2009) tutoring students from other countries, mostly from Japan, in (ESL) English As a Second Language. I focus on helping them learn to speak, read and write in the English language. I have also tutored these students in reading, writing, social studies, and science and help them with homework. In addition, I tutored adults in ESL through the Laubach program for two years as a volunteer. I received training through the READ San Diego program and from a friend who taught ESL for several years. My style is to be very patient and encouraging, and I try to make the lessons interactive and fun.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Physical Disabilities, Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Rehabilitation Counseling
School: San Diego State University
Awards No official awards, but I have received positive feedback about the quality of my tutoring, as well as many referrals for new students.
Teacher Certification: No