Location: Poway CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Nicole N. of Poway CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Nicole N.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Tutoring has been a passion of mine since I began in 2005 as a college student working in a high school program with big goals. My greatest pleasure came from seeing students acheive those things that they dreamed of doing. For most of them, this meant receiving a letter of acceptance and attending a University. I have worked with student with just such goals who are struggline to get there for many years, and I believe they are capable of succeeding. I want to be this kind of tutor for all of my students: the kind who knows they can do better and acheive what no one else thought was possible. However, I am not just a cheerleader for my students, I enjoy teaching them the skills they will need to succeed far beyond our tutoring session. I provide useful and easy ways for my students to apply their learning to future problems they might have in the classroom so that they can continue to be successful when I'm not there with them anymore. I pride myself in being an expert in English Language Arts as a Secondary Teacher. Yet, I still know what it is like to sit in the classroom as I am working on a Master's Degree as well.

I have worked with all kinds of students in both the classroom and home school settings. I know that each student takes a unique technique and I am flexible enough to work with each students needs in the best way that I can. As a teacher, I have learned to work with the needs of my entire class by differentiating instruction. In a one-on-one setting, I apply the same logic in reteaching and preparing students for what may come next. I have prepared students for many of the exams that they will face such as the California High School Exit Exam ( CAHSEE), the SAT, ACT, GED, CBEST, and more. I have also tutored second langauge learners for many years.

I simply enjoy seeing success and watching my students acheive their goals. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English
School: CSU San Marcos
Teacher Certification: No