Location: Houston TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Reading

Courtney M. of Houston TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Courtney M.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have had many years of tutoring experience which began when I was myself a middle school student. During middle school my math teacher hired me to tutor her daughter who was in the first grade. In high school I tutored high school students who had previously had drug and alcohol addiction problems. I tutored them in Spanish, English, and Math. I also tutored middle school students in English and high school students in SAT preparation and English as well. Once I entered Yale I began tutoring students weekly as well. I tutored in the areas of math and reading with students ranging in age from 6 to 15. The multiple years of tutoring experience I have had is beneficial not only in terms of the coursework included but also the wide age range that I have worked with. I am also relatively young so I connect well with students. However, I take academics very seriously and believe that all students deserve as much time and effort as possible to make sure that they reach their true potential.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Sociology
School: Yale University
Teacher Certification: No