Location: Berkeley CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Middle School Math

Ms Gracie O. of Berkeley CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Gracie O.
Gender: Female   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

When I tutor, I aim to make sure I am making someone's brain think, rather than just feeding them the answers. It is much easier to remember knowledge when earning your way to it, rather than just being given it. Therefore, I would rather show someone how to get the answer rather than give them the answer. I want to make people understand concepts and problem solving skills, rather than just memorizing it. My goal is to broaden a student's knowledge, not just for one particular subject, but for hopefully future related subjects as well; I hope that they will be able to recycle problem solving and thinking strategies that I will show them. Also, through experience in high school and college, I have discovered the best and most efficient ways of studying.

Learning has never been very easy for me; it has actually been a lot of hard work. I am not the fastest learner either. Therefore, I have obtained many approaches to really break down the problems for students.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Short-Term Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling
Educational Level: HS-Diploma
Major: Mechanical Engineering
School: UC Berkeley
Teacher Certification: No