Location: Clarksville TN USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: French, Spanish

Lisa W. of Clarksville TN USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Lisa W.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

TN Certified/Licensed Spanish (K-12) Teacher who loves watching the light bulb of knowledge go off in students of all ages and social-economic backgrounds. Looking for a break from the structured classroom to return to a more intimate and individualized teacher-student relationship where I am able to offer personalized one-on-one guidance and practice. I have 3.5 years of teaching experience in Atlanta, GA, Fayetteville, NC and Clarksville, TN therefore I am familiar with the current teaching pedagogies and teacher best practices. I have also tutored on and off for the past 15 years. References and Resume are available upon request. Subject specific areas include:

K-8th GRADE: Spanish, and French (language acquisition and application with a focus on recognition and recall), Reading /Language Arts ( to include phonics and literacy), and Social Studies. To make lessons fun for elementary students, I use songs, games & activities.

HIGH SCHOOL: Spanish and French, (language acquisition and application with a focus on grammar and oral communication) English (essays, reports and vocabulary), Social Studies (U.S./World History, Sociology and Government), and World Religion/Philosophy.

COLLEGE: Spanish, with a focus on grammar application and reading and writing skills. English/Literature (essay organization, editing). With HS and College age students, I make my lessons relevant to real world application & incorporate the students personal interests.

GENERAL/For all ages: English as a Second Language and Conversational Spanish- for those that need a crash course before traveling to a place that requires communication in the above languages or just want to learn basic colloquial phrases. I also offer services in basic student organizational strategies so that your student can be ready and open to success in the classroom. My lessons are certainly not limited to those listed here. Finally, If you have questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me even with a simple question. I do offer tutoring on a sliding scale based on income level.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling,Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Spanish & French Language and Literature
School: University of Virginia
Awards TN & NC Certified and Licensed K-12 Spanish Teacher.

Sole Recipient of the Outstanding Student Teacher for Special Subjects Award in my Student Education Program, which was given to one Student Teacher each year.
Teacher Certification: No