Location: Dallas TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Test Preparation
Subjects: SAT, Other, GRE

Oly K. of Dallas TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Oly K.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hello, prospective student! My name is Oly, and I just graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Cognitive Psychology the University of California at San Diego. I'm now working towards a Masters in Biology. I've got a strong science and math background, but also enjoy literature and arts and have taught everything in between.

In high school, I took 8 AP classes total. I scored a 5 on each of the following tests: biology, chemistry, statistics, physics: mechanics as well as E&M, English, and had a 4 in calculus BC (after which I went on to take multivariate calculus). I also have high scores on my SAT, ACT, and GRE exams, and a long history of giving test prep classes. In addition, there are many college courses that I am willing to teach, given the syllabus. I've been a bioengineering and microbiology major before so I'm well equipped to teach in those fields, and have also taught college level physics at my university. I have run creative writing and poetry workshops, written research papers and proposals, and would be willing to work with anyone who needs help in those areas. If there are any subjects you're wondering if I can teach, just send me a message, I've probably done it at least through high school level if not at a college level (or on a couple occasions, even higher).

I taught ESL classes as volunteer work throughout my high school career, where I taught groups of adults and children on my own. I was also an established tutor at Marlboro Learning Center, where I taught English, math and science courses, before I moved away. At that location, I generally taught students around my age, and I have found that many students find it easier to interact with me than with a formal "school teacher" who is much older than them, because I have no issue telling them exactly where I struggled and regular pitfalls of my peers. I'm sure it also helps that I turn into a kid around other kids, trying to help them learn through play rather than boring book-work that they don't enjoy. Overall, I just love teaching and watching people learn gives me a lot of joy and satisfaction.

My teaching technique is very flexible, and almost guaranteed to change based on the student. However, I always take a lot of time and effort to put together worksheets and outlines for the student to study. This also lets me review the material that I will teach thoroughly so that any questions can be answered fully. Speaking of which, I love getting questions, comments and feedback of any kind. Classes are very interactive, and you can learn more about the way that I teach from my blog entry here. I am fully contactable at most hours of the day (though I don't yet have a smartphone so if there's a slight delay, I do apologize). If there is anything I can do to make your learning experience more enjoyable, I will do my best to fulfill it! I hope you choose me as your tutor, and I will make this a worthwhile effort for both of us.

Notable Policies
- I charge 1/2 lesson for cancellation within the last 24 hours, and full within the last 12 hours. I apologize for the inconvenience, but I may be saving a spot for you that another student could use, and last-minute cancellations by e-mail may not even be seen if I'm en-route from one place to another. As always, the best way for current students to contact me is by phone. Texts are welcome as long as you let me know who you are!
- I charge slightly more for traveling longer distances to make up both for the time cost of driving as well as gas prices. I'm always happy to give tutoring in my own neighborhood (at home or in a local library or cafe, whichever is more comfortable for you) to spare you that cost. Online tutoring is an option as well!

Thank you!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Biology
Teacher Certification: No