Location: Clinton MS USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Business Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math, Trigonometry

Mr James K. of Clinton MS USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr James K.
Gender: Male   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I understand that everyone learns and processes information differently. When I tutor a client, I try to determine the point or points where there needs additional help and reinforcement. I try to build on the connections and understanding already established by the student. My methods involve guiding the student through problems, but not working the problems by myself. I want the student to explain to me why they are taking a certain step, and then redirect the efforts if needed. I also stress problem solving methodologies and strategies, teaching how to break down the problem into manageable chunks at which point individual problem solving steps can be used to collectively solve the problem. This is due to the very complex nature of engineering work, often making solving the problem as a whole very difficult if not impossible. The very nature of engineering is such that the answers are rarely definite or already known, rather an engineer needs to be able to make judgments and be able to plan a method to solve the problems

As a someone with a Master's and Bachelor's in Chemical Engineering, I have a very strong background in math and science as well as proven success in the discipline of chemical engineering. I graduated Summa Cum Laude in 2007 from Mississippi State University with a Bachelor's in Chemical Engineering with a 3.89 GPA overall and a 4.0 Chemical Engineering GPA. I then graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a Masters degree in Chemical Enginering in 2009, earning a 3.62 GPA. My specific area of study in graduate school was the transport of small molecules through polymeric matrices.

I have been involved with tutoring for several years now. I have tutored students in math and science courses both privately and through the Athletics Department at the University of Texas. During my undergraduate education, I was involved in tutoring underclassmen on foundational concepts and courses in chemical engineering. I also took many opportunities to work with my peers to help them understand the concepts in our classes. I enjoy working with someone to help them better understand the subjects they are studying.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $30.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Chemical Engineering
School: The University of Texas at Austin
Awards Summa Cum Laude, Mississippi State University 2007
Teacher Certification: No