Location: Chelmsford MA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Writing

Virginia B. of Chelmsford MA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Virginia B.
Gender: Female   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

For the past thirty years I have been a schoolteacher. My career has included substitute teaching, teaching first, second, third and sixth grades, tutoring, and also being a preschool teacher. These assignments have been in Lawrence, Lowell, and Chelmsford, MA.

Throughout my life I have enjoyed being in the classroom, whether as a

student or teacher. Two recent classes have been beneficial- The Skillful Teacher and The Reading First Program. The material from these classes was readily available for use in the classroom and included the latest studies on what motivated students to learn. I am

always impressed by the latest instructional studies and literature.

My dad was a schoolteacher who received his Masters Degree from the New England Conservatory in Boston, MA. I have always admired him for going to school on the GI bill. My dad always said that No education is ever wasted. He always told his children to Aim high. This attitude has influenced me in the pursuit of knowledge-

whether I am reading my favorite authors Deepak Chopra or Daniel Goleman, or taking

instructional courses.

Another major influence in my life is my daughter Theresa. Theresa has recently graduated from Wheelock College in Boston, MA. She has majored in Education and

Psychology, and her schoolwork has led to many wonderful discussions. Theresa has helped many students at The Paul Center in Chelmsford, MA- assisting those with disabilities. Observations have shown me how rewarding this involvement can be.

Thirdly, my colleagues over the years have influenced me by helping each child to find his/her optimum learning style- even in the midst of learning difficulties.

I have worked with teachers who have attended Lesley College. Their teaching abilities have impressed me. I especially enjoy watching teachers give extra help to struggling students, such as in the Title One Program. My own experience with tutoring children after school or over the summer has helped me to see how each child is different and needs different learning tools to help with their studies. Tutoring is one assignment I enjoy very much.

I would like to take some time to write- my family of origin has some great stories since my mom was the youngest of thirteen children and both my parents were Italian immigrants. My parents found it hard in school because their parents spoke Italian.

I feel my particular skills include the teaching of language arts, proofreading, and patience when dealing with children. The Lesley courses and practicum in Moderate Needs have helped me achieve a dream I have had all my life- to be a teacher in Special Needs.

My tutoring style is that of a guide. My job is to help students gain confidence and ability through my example and models.

Students learn best, in my opinion, through a variety of teaching tools- one example that comes to mind in using different editions of the same same book to show how different authors interpret the same story.

I am a big fan of Howard Gardner; his idea that children(and adults) have different learning styles is important.

Mr. Gardner recently added NATURE Intelligence to his other list of intelligences. This is important since we need to take part and understand our natural world.

I have recently been a permant subtitute in a kindergarten classroom. These K students needed help with social situations so the school I was in created a special classroom for them.

At Saint Margaret School in Lowell I had the opportunity to teach full time and also tutor reading after school. I had also created a summer school with my colleague to aid those students with reading anfd writing.

Lately I have taken 3 MTEL exams concerning reading, communication, writing and general curriculum. I passed all three exams and have helped friends with the test preparation.

A have volunteered as a church school teacher in Chelmsford, MA where I live for 15 years. This was for grades preK-high school.

All in all, I have much experience helping students succeed.

My specialty is the struggling reader and writer.

Thank you.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored:
Days Available:
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Education
School: Lesley University
Awards I am licensed to teach Moderate Needs in MA.
I have passed 3 MTEL exams in MA.
General Curriculum
Foundations of Reading
Communication (Reading and Writing)
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher