International Tutor outside USA

Location: Canterbury Kent United Kingdom

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Roxanne K. of Canterbury Kent United Kingdom Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Roxanne K.
Gender: Female   Age: 18-21
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

As an English Literature and Modern Foreign language student, I am currently in my final year of my university degree, which included two semesters studying French at the University of Neuchatel in Switzerland. The process of studying another langauge enhances one's own knowledge of their mother tongue, from the intricacies of grammar to the otherwise subtle nuances of syntaxical changes. I have an innate passion for the richness of langauge and how one can harness it as both a tool for expression and analytical purposes. Consistently passionate about English throughout my own education, I would relish the chance to be able to aid someone in their education in a pedagogical role. Having helped to edit and proofread many colleagues work, such as their masters application and their dissertations, I am apt at being able to guage someone's particular strong points in their language ability as well as their weaknesses, and thus work with that individual to hone both their ability and their confidence. I am looking to work with students at Key Stage Three level through to A-Level. I would work with an individual to help them achieve their full potential,enhancing their strengths and building their confidence, whilst preparng them for the expectations of teachers and the exam board. I would primarily be intending to work on the client's personal requirements, insofar as they would ask for help in a specific area in which they feel they lack ability or confidence, but would also be intending to prepare that student for the general expectations of teachers and bring that student's work up to a much better standard.Having consistently achieved the highest grades in English Language and Literature throughout my education, I have also maintained that standard throught my higher education and would like to pass on that expertise to younger students. I would be available at weekends but may be able to arrange some evening tutoring sessions.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School
Days Available: Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $40.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: Less than a year
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English and American Literature and French
School: University of Kent at Canterbury
Teacher Certification: No