Location: houston TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Test Preparation
Subjects: GRE, Other, SAT

Mary N. of houston TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mary N.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Teaching style:

As an aspiring professor and someone who has tutored for several years I've cultivated a certain set of teaching style. I believe what works best when tutoring is understanding each child's individual needs and his or her learning style. I don't have a cookie cutter method of how I teach each student. I typically try to assess where exactly the student's weaknesses and strengths are and then find a method of helping him or her learn. I've also learned that patience is key. I like to make sure that a student not only learns the material thoroughly but that he or she learns at a comfortable pace.


English, Literature, Writing, Reading, Grammar, Proofreading, SAT writing and reading, ACT English and GRE verbal.

I'm also certified to teach adobe photoshop and study skills.

Helping students put together personal statements and essays for college applications is another area of expertise.

Educational background:

University of South Florida
-Bachelors in English. graduated with cum laude (high honors)
-undergraduate thesis published

University of Houston
-masters in English (current)


-has worked with and tutored all students ranging from K-12 and college level.

-has been tutoring since high school

-teaches a composition course at UH

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: No.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: English Literature
School: University of Houston
Teacher Certification: No