Location: Decatur GA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, Grammar, Writing

Ellen L. of Decatur GA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ellen L.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a 2009 graduate of Emory University with highest honors in Dance and Movement Studies and French Studies. I am also currently a student in Agnes Scott College's Post-Baccalaureate Pre-Medical Program, intending to apply for medical school in 2011. I strongly believe in a personalized tutoring experience and seek to evaluate a student's needs prior to beginning regular sessions. I also like to regularly evaluate progress and tutoring techniques to ensure the best approach and results for the individual. For students up through high school, I prefer to work closely with parents in developing personalized tutoring methods for their child/teenager. In terms of experience, I began tutoring in the 10th grade, working with middle school-aged students in French language and culture and mathematical studies. As an Emory student, I tutored peers in writing and Latin. I also taught dance to ages 3-18 for 5 years.

My academic strengths include writing (particularly grammatical and analytical aspects), math (including trigonometry, pre-calculus, algebra I and II and SAT math), sciences (including biology, anatomy, physiology and general chemistry) and French language (I am fluent in writing/reading and near fluent in spoken French). My qualifications in these subjects include receiving 4's on both AP Language and Literature, 5's on AP Calculus AB and BC, a 740 on the SAT Math and 770 on the SAT II Math, a 740 on the SAT II Writing, a 5 on AP Biology, and college level coursework in Biology, General and Organic Chemistry, Physics and extensive French studies including studying abroad in Paris, France. While at Emory I maintained a 3.9 GPA. Having been a teacher for over 5 years, I have had the opportunity to develop my teaching skills and to create a personal approach to helping students realize their goals.

I am opening to tutoring any of the above subjects and encourage you to contact me with any questions. I am more than glad to help.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: French, Dance and Movement Studies
School: Emory University
Awards Phi Beta Kappa
Mortar Board
Pioneer Award
Teacher Certification: No