International Tutor outside USA

Location: Murfreesboro TN USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Middle School Math

Shavon L. of Murfreesboro TN USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Shavon L.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

My philosophy of teaching is based on the belief that the only way to learn is to do. While the process of reading examples in textbooks and from lecture notes is valuable, the real learning comes through one's own efforts. This is achieved mostly through class assignments, but also through discussions and exercises. I view my role as a facilitator for this process. I must design the framework in which learning can take place, and then stimulate and nurture the students' development, giving help in terms of knowledge, techniques, and encouragement. I also believe that it is necessary to utilize technology whenever possible.

My goals in teaching are not only to promote learning of the subject matter, but also to help the students learn to think logically, learn problem-solving methods and techniques, and improve writing skills. Without proper communication, our knowledge is useless!

I love to teach and my passion for my job is incorporated into my class each and every day. I feel as though it is my job to create relevance of the subject matter to my students through incorporating exploration activities, technology, cooperative activities, and many more methods in my daily lessons. It is through this that my students see my love and passion for the process of teaching and learning.

I am highly qualified and hold several degrees. I am also a very avid learner and enjoy attending and presenting at state and national conferences on subjects such as math, gifted education, and technology.

I have an educational specialist in administration and supervision from Middle Tennessee State University. I hold a Master of Science Degree in Instructional Technology from University of Southern Mississippi. Finally I have Bachelor of Science Degree in elementary education from Alcorn State University. While at Alcorn I also took classes in concentration areas of: Science, Technology, & Math. These extra courses allow me to be certified in K-12.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Learning Disabilities, Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Elementary Ed, Instructional Tech, Admin & Supervision
School: Alcorn State, University of Southern Miss, & Middle TN State
Awards Discovery School's Teacher of the Year 2009-2010
Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Master Teacher (2006)
Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Organization
Presidents Scholar
Thurgood Marshall Scholar
Walter Washington Scholarship Recipient
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated
Valedictorian of Class of 1997
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher