Location: Beverly Hills CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Science
Subjects: Anatomy, Biology, Chemistry, Elementary Science, Physics, Physiology

Kristine B. of Beverly Hills CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Kristine B.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I graduated from Pepperdine University magna cum laude, earning a B.A. in Spanish (3.95 major GPA). During my undergraduate education my emphasis was in premed studies. Consequently, I completed classes in both the natural and physical sciences (organic and inorganic chemistry, physics, calculus, biology, and physiology).

Additionally, I spent one year in Florence Italy studying Italian, art, and the Humanities. During this time I discovered my passion for learning and experiencing other cultures and languages. I also completed an intensive language immersion program in Argentina where I studied Latin American literature, culture, and history.

I maintained a strong work ethic throughout my university studies; I am detail oriented, thorough, and interested in all subjects of academia. Currently I am preparing to take the medical college admissions test in January in order to apply to medical schools in the coming year.

Over the last eight years I have been tutoring students of various ages and educational levels. My tutoring experiences have included elementary, high school, and university level students; furthermore, I have tutored ESL students, students from underserved areas as well as from private schools, and students with disabilities. I am qualified to tutor students in a variety of subjects including: mathematics (elementary mathematics through precalculus), English, Spanish, reading, writing, chemistry, physics, biology, and the humanities.

When tutoring, my goal is to facilitate the students learning through actively engaging them in the learning process. I try to stimulate the student to make their own connections between the concepts I present to them. This develops a students critical thinking abilities while also helping to build the students self-esteem so that they can become independent learners.

My preference is to tutor a student on a consistent basis because this allows me to better identify the students weaknesses. Identifying a students weaknesses allows me to then tailor my style of teaching to best fit the student's way of learning. By testing out different ways of questioning and explaining, I eventually develop a customized tutoring approach that differs depending on the needs of each individual student. After I am able to identify the students learning style, I am best able to effectively assist him or her in the learning process. In some cases, I try to best help students by highlighting various study skills and methods that they may find useful. However, other students simply need assistance with understanding the material from a different point of view in order to help them to independently make the necessary connections. For many younger students the main challenges involve developing effective prioritization, organizational habits, and study methods in order to develop the necessary behaviors of a successful student.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Spanish with emphasis in Premedical Sciences
School: Pepperdine University
Teacher Certification: No