Miss Emily B. of Los Angeles CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Miss Emily B.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience


I'm a fifth-year honors pre-med at UCLA majoring in Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics. I have also nearly completed the Economics major. I am currently applying to medical schools.

I have extensive experience tutoring students of all ages from third grade to college. What I think sets me apart is that my students come to see me not just as a tutor but also a mentor. I share my pre-medical experiences with younger students as well as offer college guidance counseling.

In addition, I acknowledge each student's unique learning style and do my best to accommodate their specific needs. I firmly believe that every student is endowed with the capacity to grasp concepts no matter how mathematical or otherwise abstract they may be in nature.

My schedule is very flexible and I understand that students sometimes require emergency tutoring late nights or during weekends.

Best wishes,


Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $40.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics; Economics
School: UCLA
Awards Over 2000 hours of experience tutoring elementary school and high school students in mathematics and the biological sciences.

A.P. exams taken with passing scores:

World History
U.S. History
English Literature
English Composition
(5) Calculus A.B.
(5) Calculus B.C.
(5) Biology
(5) U.S. Government
Spanish Literature
Environmental Science

My strengths in tutoring are A.P. Biology and Algebra I and II. I love working with students and helping them to develop the study skills I already possess.

I graduated high school as Valedictorian with a 4.64 in 13 A.P. courses

Scholarships Awarded:
U.C. Davis Regents
Robert C. Byrd of California
Presidential Freedom
Armenian Youth Federation
Order of the Eastern Star
Clovis Elks
California-Hawaii Elks
Lincoln Elementary Alumni
Armenian Relief Society
Japanese Americans Citizens League
Triple X Fraternity
Foundation West
Holy Trinity Armenian Apostolic Church
Teacher Certification: No