Location: Washington DC USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Grammar, Journalism, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Ilse B. of Washington DC USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ilse B.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I believe in continual shared investigation. As your tutor, I will help you to gain confidence in your topics of study. My focus isn't on just giving you the right answer - it's on providing you with the skills it takes to get there yourself. I believe in creativity and structure, and I am a generous listener who believes that intelligence comes in many forms - let's uncover yours together.

I received my B.A. from the #1 writing school in the country, and as an Honors Student there, I provided critiques on research papers for my fellow students. I have also led training sessions on effective written communication for coworkers in my work experience. In Fall 2011, I will enter a graduate program in creative writing. In the meantime, I look forward to helping you improve your English and reading skills.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $35.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English
School: University of Iowa
Awards Graduated with Honors and Phi Beta Kappa from college; have had essays and poems published in several national journals and was recently named a 2010 Emerging Writer.
Teacher Certification: No