Location: Brooklyn NY USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Reading, Writing

Jennifer S. of Brooklyn NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Jennifer S.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Tutoring and teaching English is one of my greatest passions. I have helped thousands of students over the past six years with an array of writing assignments, including college and graduate level composition, APA and MLA thesis and research papers, law briefs, and personal statements, to name a few. My specialty is with administering the rules of grammar, sentence structure and development of the student's writing style. My approach is to determine the student's weaknesses and to help him/her to identify and correct them, and I also focus on cultivating his/her strengths. I have worked with several ESL students, including but not limited to Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Russian and German students. It is my sincere wish to provide students with comprehensive instruction to develop them into proficient writers who grasp a greater understanding of the English language.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Criminolgy
School: John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Awards Certified English Tutor
Graduated with English Honors Minor
Teacher Certification: No