Location: Cambridge MA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: French

Ms Laura T. of Cambridge MA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Laura T.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am able to work within the student's structured course - meaning, helping with homework - and I can also create a curriculum myself. I find that for students enrolled in a class, combining both homework help with some outside exercises yields the best results.

I have been studying French for ten years and hold a B.A. in French and in Anthropology from Georgetown University. During and following my B.A., I lived and studied in Paris and in Tunis, where French was my primary language of communication.

I include various forms of media in my French tutoring, including, in particular, songs, along with short French language TV shows (complete with subtitles), and short pieces of literature, especially poetry. I find that seeing French in action helps the learner experience the lived side of a language - how it is used among people for whom the words really mean something. This attribution of meaning helps, I think, to create an attachment to the language that moves the learner from rote memorization to recollection through images, stories, emotions, etc. This has been, for me, an important complement to my book learning, and especially for beginners, can make the initial steps more bearable.

In terms of experience, I tutored three students at Georgetown University (2006-2008) working at the intermediate and advanced levels, including one student preparing for her competency exam. While living in Tunis, I have tutored Tunisian children and professionals in English, using French as a language of comparison (2008-2010).

Please feel free to contact me for my CV or with any questions or inquiries.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $35.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented, Home Schooling
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Theological studies
School: Harvard University
Awards I received the French language award in 2008 as a graduating senior from Georgetown University. Following that, I received a State Department Fulbright award for language study and research in Tunis, Tunisia. I am currently enrolled in a Master's program at Harvard University, where I recently passed the French language competency exam with a high pass notation. I received an 800/800 on the French language SAT II in 2004.
Teacher Certification: No