Ayala S. of New York NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ayala S.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a graduate of New York University and a native English speaker, and have been working as a private tutor and ESL instructor, as well as a freelance editor and translator, for the past ten years, both here in New York City and abroad.

As a private tutor, I work extensively with students in grades 1-12, specializing in thorough preparation of the verbal, reading and writing sections of the Regents, ISEE and SSAT exams, while incorporating crucial test-taking skills. I have tutored both learning disabled and gifted students extensively, and work with them year round on subjects such as English Language Arts (ELA), Humanities, Literature, History, Social Studies and Hebrew, implementing organizational and computer skills into each session. As a native Hebrew speaker and a graduate of Art History and Italian, I also prepare students for the AP and SAT II exams in those subjects, as well as the Analytical Writing and Verbal Reasoning sections of the GRE exam. Whether native or foreign speakers, I design a unique curriculum to match each of my student's individual needs, which may include literacy, phonics and pronunciation; vocabulary expansion, reading comprehension and grammar, together with formal writing and English literature.

As an English as a Second Language (ESL) tutor, I work with students of all levels in grades K-12, as well as international students and business professionals. My tutoring ranges from preparing students for college-entry exams, such as the TOEFL, GMAT and IELTS, to teaching elementary through high school students, to working with business executives on writing, conversation and presentation skills. In all cases, my students continue to experience a high degree of academic progress as I accompany them through their learning experience.

As a two-time instructor at the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) in NYC, I had the privilege of writing the curriculum for and teaching an intensive summer course entitled "Introduction to the History of Western Art and Civilization" to thirty incoming freshmen as part of the Educational Opportunity Program. These students many of whom spoke English as a second language learned to analyze academic texts and to write both a research paper and weekly commentaries on a variety of subjects.

Some of my past and current clients include students and professors, as well as translation and editing projects, from the following institutions and organizations: the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT), Pratt Institute, ABC Language Exchange, Rennert Bilingual, Excel Center, Brooklyn Language Institute and Tel-Aviv University.

Excellent references and resume are available upon request.

I look forward to working with you.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $50.00 to $70.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Learning Disabilities,Remedial
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Art History and Italian
School: New York University
Awards Poetry forthcoming in the New York Quarterly.
Teacher Certification: No