Location: San Antonio TX USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: Japanese

Mr Douglas S. of San Antonio TX USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Douglas S.
Gender: Male   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Hello and thanks for this opportunity to tell you a bit about myself. I first arrived in Japan in 1978 and I have been studying the Japanese language ever since. The ability to speak, read and write Japanese has grown to be single most important factor of my 30-year career as I have worked for several Japanese companies or American companies wishing to do business with Japanese companies.

I lived in Japan for a total of 8 years. Two of those years were back in 1978 to 1980 on the island of Hokkaido. Ten years later I lived in Tokyo for 5 years. And in the last few years I have made several long-term business trips to the Kyoto area. I was last in Japan on 7Jan2011 for a vacation.

Living in three vastly different areas of Japan has enriched my understanding of the national culture and exposed me to different dialects. However, I should make it clear that I would only feel comfortable tutoring the Kanto (Tokyo area) or standard Japanese.

I have taught Japanese classes for the Japan-America Society of Houston and for the Continuing Education Program at the University of Houston where I graduated with a business degree. In addition, I have taught Japanese to my peers at several of the companies where I have worked.

If you are a brand-new beginning student of Japanese or if you have taken a few courses and want to brush up on your skills, please consider working with me as your tutor. My hours are usually very flexible so let's work on your Japanese

Best regards,

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $45.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 26-50 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Accounting
School: University of Houston
Teacher Certification: No